Posted by: Cindy | September 21, 2008

Beehives, the Duck Pond, and our new cat

I happened upon an ad in the Thrifty Nickel looking for beehive space in exchange for honey.  I gladly volunteered.  So look!!!

The big tree behind the bushes is our apple tree.  It doesn’t get more local than that!  The beekeeper brought us a sample bottle and will be bringing us a bucket soon.  The honey was delicious!  He says city honey is the best because of the wide variety of flowers they have access to, ie. exotics, vegetables, flowering trees, etc (commercial orchards are usually too heavily sprayed with pesticides).  Maybe I can finally cure my allergies.

Today Mom, Kimmy, and I took the kids to Highland Glen Park, a.k.a. the duck pond.  I’ve read how bad bread is for waterfowl so I took a small bag of chicken feed instead.  I know we probably shouldn’t feed them at all but the kids really enjoy it.  Of course, everyone else there was handing out the bread–oh well.

They like the chicken feed

They like the chicken feed

Alice and me

Cute kids!

Cute kids!

Alice and Grandma

Alice and Grandma

If she'd leave hairclips in she wouldn't have to have a mullet!

If she'd leave hairclips in I wouldn't have given her a mullet!

Kimmy and Mom (on the phone--surprise, surprise)

Kimmy and Mom (on the phone--surprise, surprise)

As we were leaving a very skinny, friendly cat latched onto Lilly and Sophie.  I really don’t know if I made the right decision but I let them bring her home.  If a cat is too thin in September, what will become of her in December?

Leave a Reply

Categories

