Posted by: Cindy | July 23, 2008

We’ve been busy

Apricots are ripe.  Four trees worth, so guess what I’ve been up to the last couple days. . .

15 pints of pancake syrup (and another jar of pickles)

15 pints of pancake syrup (and another jar of pickles)

16 jars of jam

10 (of 16 total)  jars of jam
8 pints just plain apricots

8 pints just plain apricots

I also put several containers in the freezer.  I need a deep freeze!

Here I am making jam from this website: http://mooseyard.com/Jens/2007/07/apricot-jam-recipe/ .  I I had some for breakfast this morning–it turned out perfectly.

Close-up of apricot/plum jam

Close-up of apricot/plum jam

Patrick makes the best apricot leather:

He purees the apricots with some of the kernal

He purees the apricots with some of the kernal

Drying it on the dashboard

Drying it on the dashboard

Sophie thinks it tastes great!

Sophie thinks it tastes great!

Some of the aftermath:

Ben made an apricot picker for the biggest tree:

Please don't bring any more apricots into the house!

Please don't bring any more apricots into the house!

Lena and Ben

Lena and Ben

I still managed to find time to put the girls’ hair in curlers last night after their showers.  It’s been years since I’ve done this:

I also hung two loads of laundry–aren’t they pretty?

Maybe airdrying my clothes will offset some the energy I used for canning :).

Pat and Ben spent a good portion of the day cleaning out the shop.  It’s never been so clean!  The previous owner left it full of junk.  I see another garage sale in our future!

Nichole and Sophie cleaned the house really well today (moved the furniture and everything) and all the girls took advantage of the cleared space–here they all are dancing:

Responses

  1. Cindy, I just love how you guys make everything from scratch. I am planning for a bigger garden next year… I hope. That jam looks delicious, if we lived closer I would steal a jar! Pats leather looks amazing too! You guys rock! Looks like you guys have been keeping very busy! Lily and Sophie’s hair in curlers reminds me of when my mom put curlers in my hair every SAT night for church on SUN! Too Cute!

  2. I will save you a jar of jam–just stop by next time you’re up this way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

